jump to navigation

What’s Your ICD9 Code? September 15, 2009

Posted by Admin in Money.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Not exactly an average pickup line is it? Today I have a massage for my chronic condition and my favorite ICD9 code. These codes date from the 1980’s and a process called Diagnosis-Related Groups.

Or DRG’s. That’s another thing about getting sick is to learn the vocabulary! The code is what the insurance company pays from. I know it  by heart.  After so many procedures, it was just better to memorize it.  My massage therapist doesn’t get paid very much per hour for her time from Insurance Company X, so she charges me an extra co-pay unit. Which I pay because the therapist is trained for my specific condition and is very good at it. Today’s cost $60.00.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

