jump to navigation

A Hair Story… or Two October 7, 2009

Posted by Admin in Cancer, Humor, Women.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Sometimes people meet me and say-wow your hair is a cool color-what do you call it? I say pewter. Who is your colorist? Well, she is very exclusive and normally only sees people over 40 (somehow I got in early) And the color treatment cost $12,000!

Back in the day-I was a brunette. But we go gray early in my family, so in my 20’s I began to color my hair. Then I got cancer.  After awhile I gave up the hair coloring because it might cause cancer….Then I got cancer again-I could have kept the brown hair I guess. That’s what my friend said who passed away from lung cancer. “I should never have retired and I should never have stopped smoking.”

With chemo they told me there would be a diet plan and my hair would fall out, then come back in darker and curlier. What’s not to like? Hint: Don’t tell them if you like the diet plan…(Only time in my life that food was an absolute chore). One day it took me an hour to eat a bowl of coleslaw. No protein in that-but it was the only thing that even sounded good that day. An hour on some dark chocolate-that would make more sense. did you know that the advice for chemo patients is to not eat anything that you really like? Because it will always remind you of the treatments is the theory.

First my hair fell out, then I had my head shaved (for control, y’know). then it came back in white. So white that when I met Susan Powter briefly at the local coffee shop-she said, “Wow-great hair!” It looked just like hers. I explained that my coloring was not an elective choice and she gave me a free ticket to her show. That was that. Sadly, her lust for exercise did not wear off on me from that brief exposure. But I have completed 5 consecutive Danskin Triathlons. However, that’s for another post.

My hair did get darker and curlier, but it took a couple of years. Now it is the aforementioned pewter and is very straight.

Being bald does allow for certain affinities; like when you date a guy who is bald, you can say, “I know exactly how you feel!”  when he says his head is cold.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

