jump to navigation

Pre-Existing Conditions and PPACA January 19, 2011

Posted by Admin in Healthonymous.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Full Coverage is written by a cancer survivor. It is 25 years since my first diagnosis and 12.5 years since my second diagnosis. I have lived a long time since the first diagnosis and have had a pre-existing condition for many years. As I listen to various members of the House discuss how bad this legislation is, my mouth is constantly dropping open while listening to Republicans discuss my “reduced” choices because of PPACA. (Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act)

My choices have increased due to this legislation.

  • I now do not have to stay in a job only in order to keep my health insurance
  • My chances of being discriminated against in the insurance world are greatly diminished
  • My opportunities for affordable coverage without a small lifetime cap on treatment are increased, not decreased.

I can perhaps even reveal my “chronic condition” to a potential employer without fear of being “too expensive to hire” or jeopardizing their insurance plan that has few workers.

This part of the Patient Care and Affordable Coverage Act is a good step forward for the more than 2.5 million breast cancer survivors that were alive in 2007 and today.

(On January 1, 2007, in the United States there were approximately 2,591,855 women alive who had a history of cancer of the breast. This includes any person alive on January 1, 2007 who had been diagnosed with cancer of the breast at any point prior to January 1, 2007 and includes persons with active disease and those who are cured of their disease)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

