jump to navigation

Post-COBRA Coverage Choices: What Next? April 24, 2012

Posted by Admin in Blog Math, Healthonymous, Money.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

18 months is a long time-until the end is near. My employer-provided COBRA coverage April 30th, 2012.  I have appreciated the coverage very much, and it seems to be a relic from another time.

The main concern I used to have was how to maximize my choices in the individual insurance coverage market. Now, I am resigned to the bad choices, at least until the Supreme Court rules in June 2012. [Then it might get worse]

U.S. Supreme Court, 1998.

U.S. Supreme Court, 1998. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In my state there are fewer than 5 companies that offer individual coverage in my town. Not much competition there.

  • Deductibles: Used to a $250-$500 annual deductible? Kiss that one goodbye. The lowest annual deductible is $750, and that will be going up this summer to $1000. I contacted the state Insurance Commissioner and that apparently is perfectly legal. The annual deductibles go up to $10,000.
  • Monthly premiums: these range from $170 to more than $500 per month for one person. I know many people out there have more people to cover. How many folks do you know that didn’t even take COBRA, due to the cost?
  • Co-insurance or cost-share: Used to an 8o%-20% plan where you are responsible for 20% of the covered amount? Well, that is increasingly difficult to secure as well. I’ve even seen 50/50 plans. That means the insurance covers 50% of some amount and you pay the other 50%. That is after your monthly premium. Then you have to go through the calculation of whether it applies to your deductible or not.

For example, I learned yesterday that the plan I may select would cover an MRI like this: (as a cancer survivor I have had several of these in my life)

  1. Monthly premium $442
  2. Current deductible $750, in July increases to $1000
  3. Cost of MRI: about $2000
  4. Coverage pays the first $400 only
  5. The rest of the $2000 ($1600) charge would first go to my deductible of $750 if I need the MRI in the next two months.
  6. Out of pocket so far in one month $442+$750, then $850 remains. I pay 20% of that $850-$170.
  7. Total out-of-pocket that month = $1362

Whoa-Stay healthy for the rest of that month! Survive on reduced grocery budget! Other choice: go without coverage like many other Americans!

Health uninsurance rates in the United States ...


Comments»

1. Kelly Powers - May 24, 2012

I really enjoy Full Coverage. There are many of us trying to figure out how to keep covered. At some point you begin to wonder you’re really getting for what you’re paying for. Our family of 4 is on the hook for $37,000 a year, should we need to use our health insurance and we pay close to $800 a month for this “coverage.” Hope you’ll keep us updated on what you decide.


Leave a Reply

